The Old Gardener

hose It was the old man’s favorite time of day, the cool of evening, when the light of the setting sun gave everything a glow of ambient pinkish gold. It was also the time of day when he went to water his garden.

He dutifully unwound his hose and began to drag it out across his spacious back yard to his prized vegtables. As he turned on the nozzle, nothing came out but a drop of water. He frowned and when realizing he forgot to turn on the water back at the spigot, he laughed at his forgetfulness. He walked back to the spigot and turned it on.

He picked up the hose a second time and turned on the nozzle. Water came out it a great spurt and then quickly trickled down to nothing but a thin stream of water. A little annoyed, he looked down the length of hose and sure enough, the middle section had gotten itself in a huge tangle and had created a kink. He sighed, and went to work untangling the hose, making sure it was straightened out and free of kinks.

He picked up the nozzle once again and turned on the water, and again, it sputtered to life but quickly reduced back down to a weak trickle. In frustration he dropped the nozzle and walked down the length of the hose making sure he didn’t miss anything, he checked the spigot again making sure the water was turned on and it was.

Now he began lightly pulling at his beard, a sure sign he was thinking through a problem. Finally, he frowned, turned off the water at the spigot and walked back to the nozzle and checked to see if that was where the problem was. He looked it over and saw nothing wrong with it on the outside, so he decided to unscrew it and see what was going on inside. And sure enough, it was clogged with small rocks and clumps of grass, he cleared it out and was about to screw it back on when he glanced into the hose. It too was packed full of little rocks, grass and mud.

“How in the world?” he mumbled as he tried digging it out with his finger. He realized pretty quickly he would need a tool to pull out the clog because it was packed so tight and clogged so far back into the hose. He went to his tool shed and found an old steel wire that would do the trick. He began poking and prodding, loosening the packed-in clump of debris and pulling it out. But it wasn’t enough. He needed some help from the water itself. He walked back to the spigot and turned on the water and with the help of the water and the poking and prodding, the clog was finally loosened and flushed completely from the hose.

Soon, the gardener was back doing what he loved to do and that was watering his garden.

In case you didn’t notice, I really love parables. When Christ spoke in parables, I feel like he was speaking my language.

My little story above is my attempt at trying to relate a spiritual truth God has been teaching me this past year. Here’s the keys to understanding it:

The old gardener: a follower of Christ

The water: The Holy Spirit

The hose: Faith

The Garden: The work that God has for us to do while on earth.

The steel wire: The Word of God, (Truth)

Thanks for indulging me!

Cheers!

R.A.

About R.A. Hobbs

My name is Rachel. I’m a Christian. I don’t hold any theology degrees or anything, I’m just a layman believer. If anything I feel like I’m way behind the curve, a spiritual straggler just managing to hop on the bus before it leaves the station. I’ve never really written much about my faith, mostly because I didn’t feel I had anything to say. But lately, the Lord has been teaching and revealing things to me that I think are worth sharing. I don’t know how long this season is going to last and those of us who have walked with the Lord know that there are ebbs and flows, bursts of growth followed by just waiting and abiding. So, I decided to write some of it down and what I manage to make readable, I’ll share with you. Welcome to my bus!
This entry was posted in Christian thought, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

